encouragement · inspiration · Poetry

“Beautiful & Alive”

I wanted to share a poem with y’all this week.  I wrote it, and rather than explain it’s meaning, or what I felt when I was writing it, I’d like for you to just read it and think about how it applies to your life – as a woman – as a person who has loved, lost, and risen again.  We all have our inner lives, our hurts and triumphs, and our stories that we sometimes never tell.  It is all part of who we are and how our lives unfold.  So, I hope you find some encouragement from what I have written, and that you will share it with anyone you’d like.  We are all so much stronger than we know!  Love to all!

 

Tomorrow I’ll wake up and think to myself,

“I just couldn’t sleep again,”

And I’ll know why.

 

But these secrets I keep are kept.

Some things are better that way.

 

Because when I dig,

I find things I forgot I’d hidden;

Time capsules never meant to be reopened,

Sealed tight with my tears and hatred,

Buried deep under my triumphs and successes;

That thorny bush,

Roses blooming and fragrant,

Open,

Faces to the sun.

 

I’m winter hardy.

I survive.

Thorns protecting what I’ve made:

My resentment,

My sins,

My indignation,

And the grace that gives me beauty and fight.

 

I accelerate.

Cut me back,

I return.

Pluck my petals,

I regenerate.

 

So thank you!

Thanks, man!

You made me strong,

And my roots grow deep,

Curling around the pain you imposed,

Toward the sun, toward the sky, I rise,

Beautiful and alive.

– “Beautiful & Alive”

Leave a Reply

